4 down : 361 to go

Tortellini with Garlic Sage Butter Sauce

★★★★★


  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 6 cloves garlic, smashed
  • ½ teaspoon ground sage (rubbed dalmation sage*)
  • 1 teaspoon salt (sea salt*)
  • ⅛ teaspoon fresh-ground black pepper
  • 1 lb. fresh or frozen meat-filled tortellini (2 14-oz bags*)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped flat-leaf parsley (whoops forgot this*)

Sauteing the garlic

In a medium frying pan, melt the butter over low heat. Add the garlic and cook, stirring occasionally and mashing the garlic with the back of a wooden spoon, until it is soft and golden, 10 to 12 minutes. Stir in the sage, salt, and pepper.

Boiling the tortellini

In a large pot of boiling, salted water, cook the tortellini until just done, about 4 minutes for fresh and 12 minutes for frozen. Drain the pasta and return to the pot.

Add the butter and parsley and toss over low heat until the pasta is thoroughly coated with the butter, about 1 minute. 

Makes: 4 servings
Source: Food & Wine
*alterations I made

This was a-MAZE-ing! Their are 2 things you will learn very quickly about me, if you are following my recipes.

Thing #1: I like butter, not as much as Paula, but I like butter. When people talk about reducing their intake of processed foods, “fake” butter is one of my biggest annoyances. Nothing really takes the place of butter and it is a natural food. How bad can it really be?

Thing #2: I am not a dieter. My method is portion control. I eat one serving of dinner (a real serving, not restaurant portions). As soon as I start to feel full, I stop. I enjoy food too much to cut out specific things.

This recipe is very evident of these facts. It was very simple to put together, just watch your garlic carefully, as you can go from golden brown to burning in the blink of an eye. This is one of those times when you cannot substitute jarred minced garlic, it just would not be the same.

For the pasta I used Seviroli frozen meat filled tortellini, two 14-oz. bags, just to make sure there was enough to feed my boys. I did not double the butter concoction. Although I ❤Love❤ garlic, not all my boys share that love. Mostly my husband doesn’t, so out of kindness for him I kept it at 6 cloves only (they were awfully big cloves though). They joke at the table that “Mom added love to this meal” and the love is a direct reference to the amount of garlic.

This entry was posted in Pasta and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 4 down : 361 to go

  1. Corrina says:

    Looks so good!! Agree with the way you eat, everything in moderation eh!!
    mmm garlic mmm butter… wish we could that kind of pasta here. (I guess I could make it but…)

Leave a Reply

