5 down : 360 to go

Salmon with Roasted Cherry Tomatoes

★★★

  • 4 cups cherry tomatoes
  • 1 ½ teaspoons dried thyme
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • Cooking spray
  • 1½ pounds salmon fillets (about 1 inch thick)
Preheat oven to 400°.
 

Mixing up the tomatoes

Tomato Toss

Combine first 6 ingredients in a jelly roll pan coated with cooking spray; toss to coat tomatoes.Bake at 400° for 15 minutes. Add fish to pan. Bake an additional 10 minutes or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork. Serve the tomato mixture over fish.

Makes: 6 servings
Source: Cooking Light April 2004

We had a crazy interrupted night, both me and the hubby had doctor’s appointments, he’s sick and contagious so he couldn’t be entrusted with dinner. That means they had to wait for me to make dinner and like usual the doctor’s office was about a ½ an hour behind schedule. That’s why I picked this recipe for tonight. It would be relatively quick and easy.

The original recipe only served 2, to ensure I had enough to feed them all, I bought 1½ lbs. of salmon and used 4 cups of tomatoes. The tomatoes were frozen Juliets that we had harvested at a friends organic farm in August. I left them thaw on the counter before tossing them with the seasonings.

This was a very mild dinner, it would be excellent in the summer time. I would probably switch out the thyme for something different the next time, my youngest didn’t like the “pokey things”.

I have to give credit to my oldest son, I had to have him take the “tomato toss” picture. I figure I’ll have to teach one of them how to take pictures for me at some point.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

