6 down : 359 to go

Roasted Yukon Gold Potato Soup

★★★★

  • 2 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 shallot, peeled and finely sliced
  • 4 large Yukon gold potatoes, cubed
  • 2 (32 oz cartons) vegetable stock, heated to a boil
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 cup cream
  • 16 black peppercorns (crushed)
  • Kosher salt

Pour vegetable stock in a large pot and bring to a boil.

Meanwhile, heat olive oil in a pan slowly, add the shallots and sauté until cooked and opaque, about 3 minutes. Remove shallots and drain, add the Yukon gold potatoes and increase heat, sear the potatoes in the hot oil until caramelized and golden, about 8 minutes, then add the shallots back to potatoes.

Adding the potatoes to the pot

Add boiling stock and the garlic to the potatoes, turn down heat to a simmer. Cook until potatoes are soft, about 20 minutes, add the cream and blend.  Season, to taste, with salt and pepper.

This was good for a broth. I am not a big fan of Giada and the original recipe was difficult. First off it included things like salferinos, which we do not have around here that I know of. And black truffle shavings, besides the fact that I don’t like mushrooms, I’ve never seen that either and probably couldn’t afford it if we did have it. The recipe also states that you will be inactive for 2 hours. I’m not sure why, the only thing I could figure was they left the potatoes whole and it took that long for them to soften. In the end I omitted the garnish all together, cubed the potatoes so they would cook faster and doubled the original recipe.

Once all of that was accomplished it was relatively easy to make. For a next time I would also prepare Parmesan Crisps as my garnish and instead of stick blending the whole pot (which liquified my potatoes) remove a small portion of soup to blend to help thicken the base while leaving some potato chunks to make it more hearty.

For this recipe I pulled out another fun kitchen tool…

Peppercorn crushing

My mom got me a mortar & pestle for our anniversary one year. I really wanted one and am surprised by how often I do indeed pull it down. This recipe called for crushed peppercorns, so I counted them out…

Doesn't look like much

There’s only 8 because I forgot I was doubling, I had to repeat the process later. Then I crushed away…

Crushing the peppercorns

You have to watch though because sometimes the spices like to jump out. Those little casings will just pop and go flying. After I had it crushed pretty fine I just scraped it into a little bowl and it was ready to add to my soup pot.

Crushed Peppercorns

For the next 2 days there will not be any recipes cooking, I will still be eating however!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Soup/Stew and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

