8 down : 357 to go

Ham & Potato Brunch Pizza

★★★★

  • 1 16-ounce loaf frozen bread dough, thawed (4 hours by quick method)
  • 2 medium potatoes, finely chopped (2 cups)
  • 1 medium green sweet pepper, diced
  • 1 bunch green onion, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons margarine
  • ½ cup mayonnaise
  • ½ cup dairy sour cream
  • 2 teaspoons dried parsley
  • ¼ teaspoon pepper
  • 1- ½ cups diced fully cooked ham
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar
On a lightly floured surface, roll bread dough into a 16 x 12-inch rectangle. Press dough into the bottom and up the sides of a greased 15 x 10 x 1-inch baking pan. Prick generously with a fork. Bake in a 375 degree F oven about 20 minutes or until light brown.
Meanwhile, in a large nonstick or well-seasoned skillet cook potatoes, sweet pepper, and green onion in margarine or butter over medium heat for 8 to 10 minutes or until tender, stirring often.
In a medium mixing bowl stir together mayonnaise or salad dressing, sour cream, parsley, and pepper; spread over hot crust. Top with potato mixture and ham. Sprinkle with cheddar or Swiss cheese.
Bake about 12 minutes more or until cheese melts and pizza is heated through. 

Makes 6 servings
Prep time: 30 minutes
Bake time: 30 minutes
Source: Better Homes and Gardens

This seemed like a lot of work, but once I got into it, it was more in the prep than anything. I have a hard time with any recipe that calls for a thawed loaf of bread dough. I usually forget and then don’t even have time for the quick thaw method. Today I remembered and got it in the oven at 12:30, which was good because even the quick method takes about 4 hours!

I think my potatoes were larger than the recipe anticipated because my pizza was overflowing. The more the merrier, right? I still had sweet peppers in my freezer from my harvest, I just thawed it slightly in the microwave and instead of creating strips I opted to dice it small. I prepped all my vegetables, while they were in the skillet I rolled out my dough and got that in the oven. Then I mixed up the “sauce”, chopped the ham and shredded the cheese. By the time the crust came out, all my toppings were ready to go on. If you want it to go even faster, use a bag of hash brown potatoes with the peppers already in them and forget the green onion. I greatly dislike Swiss cheese, this won’t be the first recipe you see me swap it out for something else.

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

