9 down : 356 to go

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cheesecake

★★★★★

  • 12 oz. chocolate chip cookies
  • 24 oz. softened cream cheese
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • ½ cup sour cream
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 Tbsp flour
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla
  • ½ cup mini chocolate chips
Crumble chocolate chip cookies into a greased 9-inch springform pan. Beat cream cheese, sugar, sour cream, eggs, flour and vanilla until smooth. Fold in mini chocolate chips. Pour into pan. Bake at 350º until edges are firm but center is soft, 45 to 50 minutes. cool on rack. Drizzle with melted chocolate; chill. 

Source: Redbook September 1999

Tonight’s post is a dessert instead of a dinner recipe. We actually ate dinner at a friend’s house, ordered pizza out. I had hoped to have this finished in time to take it along, but didn’t have time to let it cool and I feared taking a slightly liquidy cheesecake in the car for a ride. I am not a big cheesecake person, but the family likes them. This one sounded good so I thought I’d give it a try. In the past my cheesecakes have not turned out well. Pulling something out of an oven while it is still liquid in the middle just seems wrong to me, so I was always over cooking them. This one I followed the directions and it seems to have turned out right. The only thing I would have to say is the crust is made of cookie crumbs, literally just cookie crumbs. I think it would be better if the crumbs were mixed with butter so they stuck together. When I cut out the first piece, none of the crust came with it and I ended up just sprinkling the crumbs on the top of the piece. My mom was my taste tester for it and said that it was nice and creamy and the cookie crumbs were a nice balance to the cream cheese flavor. Both the husband and mom agree that it would be much better cold (I just hadn’t gotten that far with it yet.)

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

