13 down : 352 to go

Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

★★★★★

  • ¾ cup creamy peanut butter
  • ½ cup Crisco® All-Vegetable Shortening
  • 1 ¼ cups firmly packed brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons milk
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 ¾ cups flour
  • ¾ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
Heat oven to 375°F. Combine peanut butter, shortening, brown sugar, milk and vanilla in large bowl. Beat at medium speed of electric mixer until well blended. Add egg. Beat just until blended.
Combine flour, baking soda and salt. Add to creamed mixture at low speed. Mix just until blended. Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls 2-inches apart onto greased baking sheet. Flatten slightly in a crisscross pattern with tines of fork (dipped in flour).
Bake one baking sheet at a time 7 to 8 minutes, or until set and just beginning to brown. Cool 2 minutes on baking sheet. Remove cookies to cooling racks to cool completely. 

Makes 3 dozen
Source: www.crisco.com

I love peanut butter cookies. The last few times I’ve made them they’ve come out dry and crumbly. These came out they way they are suppose to. Very easy to mix together. I used one of my favorite kitchen tools to drop them on the cookie sheet. This is from OXO, it’s the perfect size for most cookies and keeps my hands clean during the process. An added bonus is the cookies come out mostly all the same size which limits the fighting that might ensue from one boy taking the biggest cookie. They bake better if they are flattened slightly, that’s what the fork is for, this batter is sticky so it works better with some flour.
My cookie sheet is another of my very favorite kitchen items. I have had expensive cookie sheets, I have a stone baker that is not suppose to burn and make excellent cookies, I have a Wilton’s sheet and I still prefer the little $6 cookie sheet that we picked up on a whim at Ikea one day. It is so stick proof that I have to be careful pulling it out of the oven or whatever was on it ends up at the bottom of my oven rack. Even the 1 batch of cookies I did burn didn’t turn black. It is the best!
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

