14 down : 351 to go

Molasses Spice Cookies

★★★★★


  • ¾ cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • ¼ cup molasses
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon ground ginger
  • ½ teaspoon ground allspice
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
Preheat oven to 375ºF. Cream butter and sugar. Beat in eggs and molasses. Gradually blend in the rest of the ingredients. Form one inch balls and roll in sugar. Cook on ungreased cookie sheet for 8-10 minutes. (Mine took more like 12 minutes) 

Makes 2½ dozen

Source: www.kitchenmonki.com courtesy of Jeff Berzowski

To begin with I softened the butter in the microwave for 20 seconds at 50% power. My first time I actually messed up because the original recipe had the sugar at the bottom of the ingredient list and I accidently added it to the flour/dry bowl instead. I scrapped out as much as I could and creamed that with the butter, but there was little amounts of flour and spices in with it. It seemed to work out just fine though, a very forgiving recipe.

I also did not roll the dough into balls, it was much too sticky. Instead I scooped it out of the bowl with my cookie scoop, dropped into a mug with sugar in it, swirled it around (which also helped to form it into a nice ball) to coat it with sugar and then placed it on the cookie sheet.

Half of every dozen I flattened slightly and sprinkled with coarse salt. I would love to try the smoked salt. The Maple Smoked Salt hot cocoa I had in Asheville brought this on. It worked, I like the combination on the cookies as well.

This was an easy recipe, I really enjoy spice cookies. The original recipe called for ground cloves, which I was out of, so I used allspice instead. I definitely prefer the ones topped with salt over the other ones.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

