21 down : 344 to go

Black Bean Soup

★★★★


  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 medium carrots, chopped
  • 1 medium red pepper , chopped
  • 3 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons cumin seeds, crushed
  • ¼ teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • Salt
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 15-ounce cans black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 14 ounce can chicken broth
  • 2 teaspoons dried cilantro leaves
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • Shredded cheddar cheese
  • Sour cream
In 6-quart sauce pot, heat oil on medium until hot. Add carrots, garlic, onion, and pepper; cook 12 to 15 minutes or until vegetables are lightly browned and tender, stirring occasionally. Add cumin, crushed red pepper, and 1/2 teaspoon salt; cook 1 minute.
Stir in water, beans, and broth; heat to boiling on medium-high. Reduce heat to low and simmer, uncovered, 15 minutes to blend flavors.
Ladle 3 cups soup into blender; cover, with center part of cover removed to allow steam to escape, (maybe you want to put a paper towel over the opening, at least until it gets going. I ended up with soup in my hair!) and blend until pureed. Stir puree into soup in saucepot; heat through on medium. Stir in cilantro and lime juice. Garnish with cheddar cheese and sour cream. 

Makes 6 servings
Source: Country Living

As part of our soup week, I added in a black bean variety. We’ve had several variations and I’m always looking for the ‘perfect’ one. I’m not convinced we’ve found it yet, however I do have one that is getting discussed amongst my friends and requested we they come over. I like this one because 1. it was easy and 2. it was good and filling but not super spicy.

In my recipe copy I missed a few ingredients, so I added 3 garlic cloves and 1 onion as a guess. I wasn’t far off. I also used a green pepper from the freezer bounty instead of red. Since the cumin seeds were so excellent in my chili over the weekend I chose those for this soup as well. I ground them in the mortar along with the red pepper flakes.

It did only make 6 servings, which is not enough for our family. Next time I’ll know to double it for sure. The boys really liked it, the youngest said “this is so good I’m almost done” before I’d even had mine put together.

This entry was posted in Soup/Stew and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

