22 down : 343 to go

Ham & Bean Soup

★★★

  • 1 pound dried navy beans
  • 2 medium onions, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 2 celery ribs, chopped
  • 10 cups water
  • 1 cup mashed potatoes flakes
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons worcestershire sauce
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon dried thyme
  • ½ teaspoon pepper
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 smoked ham hocks
Place beans in Dutch oven or soup kettle (make it a really big pot!); add water to cover by 2 in. Bring to a boil; boil for 2 minutes. Remove from heat; cover and let stand 1 hour.
Drain and rinse beans, discarding liquid. In same pan, saute onions in oil for 2 minutes. Add celery; cook until tender. Stir in beans, water, potato flakes, carrot, Worcestershire sauce, salt, thyme, pepper and bay leaves. Add ham bone. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 1 ¼ to 1 ½ hours or until beans are tender.
Remove ham bone; when cool enough to handle, remove ham from bone and cut into cubes. Return to soup. Discard bone and bay leaves.

Makes 10 servings
Source: Taste of Home/Amanda Reed

I believe we’ve had this before, but I didn’t mark it as tried, so with sick week, I thought it would be a good meal. I believe the first time I actually prepared mashed potatoes as the original instructions had without milk and butter. Essentially that’s potato flakes and water. Since there was so much liquid in the pot, I thought what difference will it really make to put the flakes directly into the pot. I can’t honestly say I know.

I started with my 4 quart dutch oven, I got everything into it, until it was time to add the ham hocks. That pot would have overflowed for sure! That’s why I highlighted the need to start with a really big pot.

This entry was posted in Soup/Stew and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

