24 down : 341 to go

Spaghetti with Garlic and Basil

★★

  • 1 (16 ounce) package uncooked thin spaghetti
  • ¼ cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • ¼ cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 Tbsp dried basil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • ½ cup freshly grated Pecorino cheese
Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Place spaghetti in the pot, cook for 8 to 10 minutes, until al dente, and drain.
In a large bowl, toss the spaghetti with the olive oil, butter, garlic, basil, salt, and pepper until evenly coated. Serve with Parmesan cheese.

Makes 8 to 10 servings
Source: Allrecipes.com

Jinkys! I know we’ve made this before, but I didn’t have it rated in MacGourmet, so I couldn’t remember what we thought of it. I couldn’t find my print out of the recipe any where. I know why now. I had decided not to make it again!

I’m all for simple, light pasta dishes for dinner. It doesn’t seem to have much to it to make it a meal, but it’s filling (and cheap). I switched out the fresh basil for dried and the Parmesan for Pecorino because we had some left over from last night’s dinner. The boys liked it, but at one point #1 said “is there a lot of garlic in this?” My mouth felt like it was burning because of the garlic!  I love garlic, but this was overkill. I would like this much better if the garlic was sauteed with the olive oil and or butter before going into the bowl for tossing. It was just a much to intense flavor. It’s good to note however that 2 of my boys had second helpings. We enjoyed leftover peas and fresh baked Pillsbury French bread to go with it.

This entry was posted in Pasta and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

