25 down : 340 to go

White Pizza

★★★


  • 4 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 Vidalia or other sweet onion, coarsely chopped
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups spinach, coarsely chopped (½ bag)
  • 15 oz. container whole milk ricotta cheese
  • 6 tablespoons freshly grated Pecorino cheese
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil or 2 teaspoons dried
  • 2 Pillsbury Thick Crust Pizza Dough Tubes
Roll pizza dough out on 2 pizza pans or jelly roll pans. Prick with fork, bake at 400º until lightly browned.
Heat oil in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion, sugar and ½ teaspoon salt; cook, stirring, until onion is a rich golden brown, about 8 minutes.
Stir together spinach, ricotta, 4 tablespoons of Parmesan, basil and remaining ½ teaspoon salt in small bowl. Spread spinach mixture over baked pizza crust to cover entirely. Top with onion and sprinkle with remaining 2 tablespoons Parmesan.
Return to oven for 8 minutes, until cheese melts. 

Makes 18 slices
Source : Weight Watchers Magazine July/August 2005

Today ended up being an absolutely beautiful day! We spent the late afternoon marking where I would like to plant a wild flower patch for future children’s portraits in the backyard. Then I took my new scooter for a ride. It’s the first I’ve been on it since we brought her home from Asheville. Between the sore tailbone and the ugly weather I just haven’t had the interest. With the sun shining today, I decided it was time to see how she rode.

Given that we spent much of the afternoon outside, I didn’t really feel like a big messy dinner. My options were a chicken soup or this pizza. While the soup would have been good, the chicken for it had been stashed in the freezer and would need defrosted. The pizza required no meat preparation, that’s a winner for me.

The original recipe came from an old Weight Watcher’s magazine and cited it as being 4 points, but they also used part skim ricotta and a Boboli crust and it only fed 4. I needed to double the recipe and the choice between two $5 Boboli crust and two tubes of Pillsbury Pizza Dough was an easy one.  I rolled one out on my jelly-roll stonewear pan and the other on my round pizza stone. Although I had bought the thick crust variety, the dough came out thin and crispy when it was all done. The fact that the crust gets baked first and is hot while you spread the ricotta mixture on actually worked in my favor. The ricotta was hard to spread, but as it started warming it was easier to move around. The kids really liked the caramelized onions and devoured the pizza. I wasn’t sure because although it’s called “white” pizza, it came out more green!

This entry was posted in Meatless, Pizza and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

