27 down : 338 to go

Alfredo Mostaccioli

★★★★★

  • 1 (16 ounce) package mostaccioli
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • ½ cup butter
  • ½ cup grated Pecorino or Parmesan cheese
  • 2 tbsp dried parsley
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • ¼ teaspoon garlic powder
Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add pasta and cook for 8 to 10 minutes or until al dente; drain.
Combine heavy cream and butter in a Dutch oven or large, heavy saucepan over medium heat. Heat until butter melts, stirring occasionally; be careful not to bring mixture to a boil. Stir in Parmesan cheese, parsley, salt, pepper and garlic powder. Toss with cooked pasta and serve immediately. 

Makes 8 servings
Source : allrecipes.com

This is a meal that we have had before. I was one dinner short on my menu this week and needed something easy and quick for dinner on Tuesday night. This was also inexpensive as I had everything except the pasta on hand. I whipped it up in the time it took the water to boil and the pasta to cook, fixed a bag of frozen petite peas and we had dinner on the table.

The sauce that this makes is very good. Likely it is not overly healthy for you if you happen to be one of those people on a diet, but it sure does taste good.  I actually calculate the nutritional data for myself and don’t think it was that bad. I determined that 1 serving would equal 528 calories, 33.8g of fat, 109mg of cholesterol, 425mg of sodium, 46g of carbohydrates, 1.8g of fiber, 5.5g of sugars and 12g of protein. My version differed slightly from the recipe’s original nutritional data, but I also took the information off of each ingredient I used. Likely the switch from regular heavy cream and heavy whipping cream had something to do with it, but it sure does make for a more decadent sauce and it was in my fridge whispering “use me”. Oh, and I know they say you have to, but I rarely ever salt my pasta water. I’m not a heavy salt user and cannot see the value in adding salt to my pasta while it is cooking. I’d rather control how much goes on after the fact, if I indeed do find that the recipe needs a little something extra. Honestly I’ve never noticed a difference between salted water and not.

This entry was posted in Meatless, Pasta and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

