29 down : 336 to go

Chicken Vegetable Soup with Lime and Cilantro

★★★★★

  • 8 bone-in chicken thighs, with skin removed
  • 8 cups canned chicken broth
  • 3 large baking potatoes, peeled, cut into 3/4-inch cubes
  • ¾ cup carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 ½ teaspoons coriander seed, ground
  • 1 15-ounce can golden hominy, drained
  • 2 Tablespoons green onion, chopped
  • ⅓ cup chopped celery tops (the leafy part)
  • 5 tablespoons fresh lime juice
Place chicken, broth, potatoes, carrots and coriander in large pot and bring to boil. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer until chicken and vegetables are tender, stirring occasionally, about 40 minutes. Remove chicken thighs from pot, allow to cool slightly and cut meat from the bone and return meat to the pot. Add hominy, green onions, celery leaves and lime juice and simmer 5 minutes to blend flavors. Season soup to taste with salt and pepper.

Makes 10 servings
Source : Bon Appétit April 2000

Although I’m sure the original recipe is excellent, this one got changed up out of necessity. It still tasted incredible! For starters, my chicken was frozen. Have I mentioned how much I dislike touching raw meat? My hubby had said he would do it, but we forgot to thaw it, so the task fell to me if we were going to be eating tonight. I ran the frozen brick of poultry under cool water until I was able to get the thighs apart. Then I defrosted them two at a time in the microwave. While I waited for the next pair to defrost, I pulled the skin and trimmed the fat from the pair that was done. That was as far as I was going, had he been doing this he would have trimmed the meat from the bone and cut it into pieces like the recipe suggested. Since I was short by about a cup on broth, I thought, “hey these bones will add some flavor!” Into my pot went the thighs with the meat still wrapped around the bone. Thank goodness I picked my largest pot to begin with!

The three potatoes I picked must have been on steroids because they were over the weight by about a pound. A little extra potato is always good at a table for 6. I happened to have frozen chopped carrots in the freezer, being a bit scattered tonight I must not have read the recipe right, because I added ¾ cup instead of ¾ pound. That’s okay, those extra potatoes made up for it! I also happened to have chopped green onions in my freezer, not quite ⅓ cup, but again, you work with what you’ve got. Since they were frozen, they had a bit more oniony flavor than fresh would have had. I also happened to have frozen celery leaves in my freezer (you should see my freezer sometime!) Cilantro would have been super tasty with the lime flavor, but alas it’s not a good time for cilantro to be fresh from my garden and I didn’t buy any at the grocery store. Celery does not pack an incredible flavor punch, but it added some nice color and a little flavor to the soup.

When it came to the hominy, I was all for using what it called for. My local grocery store was however not into supplying me with what I needed. There was the regular white hominy, but not one can said golden hominy. The stuff I picked (see link) was in the same general area as the hominy cans, but does not say hominy anywhere on it. It did say golden, so that made it the right stuff in my book.

This entry was posted in Soup/Stew and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

