30 down : 335 to go

4-Ingredient Pizza Bake

★★★


  • 2 pouches (7.5 oz each) Bisquick® Complete buttermilk biscuit mix
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 can (14 oz) pizza sauce
  • 1 package (8 oz) sliced pepperoni
  • 2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese (8 oz)
Heat oven to 375°F. Spray 13×9-inch (3-quart) glass baking dish with cooking spray. In medium bowl, stir Bisquick mix and water until soft dough forms. Drop half of dough by spoonfuls evenly in bottom of baking dish (dough will not completely cover bottom of dish).
Drizzle about 1 cup pizza sauce over dough. Arrange 1/2 of the pepperoni slices evenly over sauce. Top with 1 cup of the cheese. Repeat layers with remaining dough, pizza sauce, pepperoni and cheese.
Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until golden brown. Cut into squares to serve.

Makes 8 servings
Prep time: 10 minutes
Ready in : 35 minutes
Source : Betty Crocker

I realize I missed the past two days, but we really didn’t have much to share in the food realm. I could say I just haven’t fed my kids, but anyone that knows the boys would know how absurd that statement would be. Friday night we ordered pizza from my favorite place, George’s B-street Subs. One bacon and one pepperoni. Although in the future I think we will have to increase that order to three large’s.

Saturday was a sad affair as we had a memorial for a friend that passed away unexpectedly this week. A friend and I were in charge of meat and cheese trays. There was certainly plenty of food to share, I just didn’t try much of it. If the boys plates were any indication, the food was excellent.

Today was a normal day again. I had this super simple recipe on the menu for the week and #1 is always asking me if he can make dinner. I figured I’d let him have a go at it. He read over the recipe and assured me that he understood it. It took him about 30 minutes for the prep, he’s never made these biscuit mixes before and apparently just kept stirring, not realizing it was suppose to be lumpy. He also had to shred the cheese himself. He comes in at one point and says “I can’t get the dough to spread all over the bottom of the pan”. Once I explained that it wasn’t to be spread but dropped like biscuits, it was like a lightbulb went off. He got it done and in the oven and baked it for 20 minutes. We found however (as I was eating a piece from the middle) that the dough didn’t quite bake and was still rather gooey. I just microwaved the rest of my plate, but we put the pan back in the oven for an additional 10 minutes. Just a warning in case you try this. With the tomato sauce and cheese, it’s a little hard to tell where the biscuit mix is and the top was browning in some areas. Look more for the entire surface to brown. In the end it all worked out. The boys all liked it and would likely rate it higher than I did, but it wasn’t the type of food I like to eat repeatedly. As a meal for the kids to fix however, it works great.

This entry was posted in Casserole, Pizza and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

