33 down : 332 to go

Cajun Chowder

★★★★

  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 large white onion, diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • ½ tablespoon curry powder
  • ½ tablespoon turmeric powder
  • 1 green pepper, diced
  • 1 yellow pepper, diced
  • 1 lb. Cajun sausage (andouille), sliced
  • 12 oz. white corn, frozen
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup grated white cheddar cheese
  • 1 lb. shrimp, peeled and cleaned
  • Cooked rice (I used brown because it’s what I had)
  • Chopped tomatoes 
Prepare, wash and chop all ingredients before you start to cook. For this recipe I actually did this step. I’m glad I did because I discovered I did not have the white corn and had to make a run to the store.



In large stew pot, sauté the onions in three tablespoons of olive oil until translucent (3 minutes). Add garlic and cook another minute. Add the spices; chili powder, curry and turmeric. Stir to coat well. Add peppers and cook a few more minutes until soft (2 minutes). Add Cajun sausage and cook a few minutes, stirring to coat well (3 minutes). Add broth and corn and bring to a boil. Add grated cheese and cream. Add shrimp and gently simmer until they are cooked and pink. Taste for seasoning and add salt and pepper if needed. Serve hot.
Serve with chopped tomatoes accompanied by a bowl of rice.Makes 8 servings
Source : Palm Beach Cottages & Gardens

Today was an incredibly beautiful day. Temperatures reached 78° by afternoon. I was privileged to watch two adorable little girls today, a real treat as I’m always surrounded by little boys. We took a walk up to the grocery store to pick up a few things. The older girl (4) collected dandelions the whole way home. We also picked up a Betty Crocker cookie pouch to make together. She choose rainbow M&M, of course! She liked my little cookie scoop very much even though it took all her strength to squeeze the dough out. The were very good for me, took their naps like angels. The youngest (1) eats like a horse! Where this child put it I could not tell you. Compared to my nephew (of the same age) she is a feather. She could really pack it away. After naps we played outside with my boys after they got home from school. We tried some jump rope and soccer. There were I’m sure a million things I could have accomplished today, but this was much more fun.

As I mentioned, I did go ahead and measure everything ahead of cooking. My onion I chopped in my favorite Tupperware chopper. The spices I measure into small bowls. We went back to the freezer for more frozen peppers. I’m out of reds and yellows and instead went for green and light green. To chop them, I pop them in the microwave for 30 seconds at 50% power first. The recipe didn’t really give directions for the sausage, maybe it was suppose to be bulk, but I had two links and choose to cut them into thin coins. White corn was a little trickier to find in my store and I had intended to make a run to the Hanover Brands Outlet to buy some, but between the rain and my schedule I never seemed to make it. That’s why I ended up with 12 ounces, that’s all that was available at the store. The shrimp I purchased frozen in a two pound bag. I poured 1/2 the bag into a bowl and filled the bowl with cool water and allowed the shrimp to sit while I prepared all the other ingredients. By the time I was finished they had thawed enough that they were no longer stuck together and I was able to peel them easily.

This was a nice, flavorful chowder. I feel that it was missing something, but can’t quite put my finger on it. The boys all seemed to like it, which surprised me, because it was hot or “picy” as my youngest says. Of course he also said he liked putting the “potatoes” on top because I still cannot get him to differentiate between the two vegetables. As far as he is concerned a “tomato” is that spinning wind that blows cows around. Even more of a surprise was that he ate the single shrimp I added to his bowl. He’s never been fond of any seafood with that texture and usually picks it out. Maybe he didn’t notice it with all the heat. The original says 6 servings, but I upped it to 8 because that’s what we got out of it. One serving was plenty to fill you up, especially with the rice. The tomatoes on top are perfect as the cool temperature of them helps to cut the spice some. I allowed the boys to continue adding tomatoes as the ate.

This entry was posted in Pork, Soup/Stew and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

