35 down : 330 to go

Eggs with Ham, Cheddar and Chives

★★★★★

  • 1 ½ tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 10 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons milk or water
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • ¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 ¼ cups diced cooked ham
  • 1 ½ cups shredded sharp Cheddar
  • ⅓ cup chopped fresh chives
Heat butter in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add ham and sauté until browned.
Meanwhile, in a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, 1 teaspoon kosher salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Pour into the pan and cook, stirring occasionally, to desired doneness, 4 to 5 minutes, adding cheddar and chives just before the eggs are set.

Makes 4 servings

Source : Real Simple October 2005

I followed this recipe exactly as is. The eggs were really tasty. I’m always undecided what ham to buy when a recipe calls for diced cooked ham. Sometimes I get ham from the deli and have them slice it thick. Sometimes I buy the prepackaged slices. This time I went with a Hatfield ham quarter as they were on sale. I not only had enough for this recipe, but bagged and froze three more cups of diced ham for future recipes.

I haven’t been using fresh herbs lately for recipes, partly due to cost, partly due to season. I’m hoping this year I can grow quite a few of my own herbs. I have learned that there is a huge difference between fresh chives and dried ones, so I went ahead and bought the fresh chives in the produce department. This also enabled me to show you another of my favorite kitchen gadgets: Herb Scissors. I very much like these scissors, they do a wonderful job and it is so much easier than chopping fresh herbs with a knife. Yeah I could use regular scissors, but this have multi-blades and do the job so much faster!

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

