36 down : 329 to go

Cheese Meximac

★★★★

  • 1 box rotini pasta, (16 ounces) I used 12 oz tricolor rotini and 4 oz elbow
  • 2 green onions, trimmed and sliced
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1 ½ cups milk
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ⅛ teaspoon black pepper
  • pinch red chile pepper flakes
  • 16 ounces pepper jack cheese, shredded
  • 15.2 ounces canned mexican style corn, drained (Del Monte Fiesta Corn)
Heat oven to 350º. Coat 3 quart casserole dish with nonstick cooking spray. Bring large pot water to boil. Add rotini and cook 5 minutes. Add green onions and cook an additional 2 minutes. Drain and set aside.
In medium size saucepan, melt butter over medium heat. Whisk in flour until smooth. Gradually add milk, whisking constantly, until smooth. Stir in salt and peppers; bring to a simmer. Cook, simmering, 4 minutes. Remove from heat.
Add half of the shredded cheese to milk mixture; whisk until smooth. Stir in corn, then combine in large bowl with pasta and scallions. Pour half into prepared dish; top with half of the remaining cheese. Repeat, ending with cheese.
Bake at 350º for 25 minutes. Cool slightly before serving.

Makes 10 servings

Source : Kitchenmonki.com

Tonight was our first night taking swing dance lessons again. That called for an easy and not overly heavy meal. I had my reserves about this mix because I’m not a big fan of pepper jack cheese and I didn’t think I would like the corn mixed with the pasta, but I was pleasantly surprised by the outcome.

It took me several years to understand how to make a white sauce such as is the base in this recipe. My biggest mistake in all those years was a lack in patience. I felt I had to stick to the timing that was in print, but that’s not always the case. I’ve also learned that by adding just a small amount of the milk to the butter and flour mixture and allowing that to create a good paste is a key to having a thick creamy sauce in the end.

For a next go-around I think I would use 8 ounces of monterey jack and 8 ounces of the pepper jack. It was a little too much for me. In the case of the mexican corn, I could not find a can that clearly said mexican corn, then I wondered if they no longer label it that way because of politically correct terminology. I decided that it really just meant corn mixed with chilies and went with the larger can of Del Monte Fiesta Corn.

This entry was posted in Casserole, Meatless, Pasta and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

