38 down : 327 to go

Cinnamon Pancakes

★★★

  • 2 cups Bisquick mix
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Butter
Stir pancake mix and cinnamon in large bowl until well blended. Stir in eggs, milk, oil and vanilla just until blended.
Pour ¼ cup of batter per pancake onto preheated lightly buttered griddle or skillet. Cook 1 to 2 minutes per side or until golden brown, turning when pancakes begin to bubble. Keep in oven set at 200° until all pancakes are made.

Makes 12 pancakes (4 servings)

Source : McCormick.com

The best of the bunch

Pancakes for dinner! Yes, we frequently have breakfast for dinner. We enjoy the breakfast foods, but rarely have the time (or where-with-all) to fix a good hot breakfast in the morning. If it’s healthy enough to eat before your day starts, it’s healthy enough to eat at the end of the day too. If I was good we would also have eggs and bacon, maybe a little sausage. I can multi-task with a variety of household duties, cooking is not one of them. Doing the one-man-band in the kitchen usually results in disaster for me. I doubled the batch to ensure there was enough to fill my bottomless pits up and we even were left with one lonely pancake.

As pancake recipes go, this was a very basic, pretty straight forward one. I used Bisquick because I had it. Are there other pancake mixes? I don’t know. I did feel that these were a little heavy and my batter was very lumpy with a lot of dry mix balls. I think I will whisk it next time, or even get out my stick blender for a smoother batter.

Duck Bill PancakePancakenstein

Pancakenstein

I will be the first to admit that I am horrible at pancake making! I think it’s because I lack patience with the batter. Wait for the bubbles…always wait for the bubbles. Several pancakes didn’t quite make a full flip and ended up folding in half. There is no fixing them after that! At one point the skillet got too hot and that batch had wavy edges instead of nice smooth ones. I never end up with perfectly round, thick and fluffy pancakes. Mine are like “frankenstein” cakes. It is a good thing the boys don’t let anything rest on their plates to be admired and rather just inhale whatever comes in front of their mouths. Oh – and if you put syrup on it, they don’t even care what’s underneath!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Meatless and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

