46 down : 319 to go

Topsy Turvy Egg Bake

★★★★

  • 2 English muffins, torn into crumb-size bits
  • 1 bunch broccolini, trimmed and cut into ½-inch pieces (I ended up with broccoli rabe because that’s what the grocery store had)
  • 1 large shallot, chopped
  • 5 oz. fontina cheese, shredded
  • 5 eggs
  • ¾ cup half and half
  • 3 Tbsp unsalted butter
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 Tbsp finely grated Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 325°.

Beat together eggs and half-and-half in small bowl; set aside.

In large skillet, melt 2 tbsp. butter over medium heat. Add muffin crumbs and cook, stirring occasionally, until golden, about 5 minutes; transfer to plate. Wipe out skillet. Spray 8-inch square baking dish with cooking spray.

In skillet, melt remaining 1 tbsp. butter over medium heat. Add shallot, ½ tsp. salt and ¼ tsp pepper and cook, stirring often, until softened, about 2 minutes. Add broccolini and cook 1 minute. Add ½ cup water, increase heat to medium-high and simmer, stirring occasionally, until water is evaporated and broccolini is crisp-tender, 3 to 5 minutes. (If using the rabe, water will increase instead of evaporate. I cooked for about 3 minutes.) Transfer to baking pan. Sprinkle with 1 cup fontina cheese. Pour egg mixture on top of broccolini mixture. Sprinkle with toasted crumbs and remaining fontina cheese. Top with parmesan. Bake in center of oven until eggs are set and top browned, about 30 minutes.

Makes 9 servings

Source : Everyday with Rachael Ray May 2011

____________________________________________________________________________

I have been getting the RR magazine for several months. Initially I started getting it because I liked the recipes, but I really liked that they included beer and wine pairings with most recipes. I don’t drink either, but I enjoy indulging my husband’s hobby love of microbrews and it gave us new kinds to look for. They have since stopping including those pairings and I will likely let my subscription go when it expires. There are so many recipes available online to try that I don’t really need a magazine that provides the same.

The grocery store is finicky in what it carries. I know I’ve seen broccolini there before. Today they had none. They also did not have avocados (which I needed for another recipe). The closest options I had were regular broccoli or the broccoli rabe. I was excited to try something new, so normal broccoli was not really enticing. The broccoli rabe looked intriguing and I figured I could make it work. Upon doing some research I discovered that they are really two different flavors. The rabe is on a more bitter side. That scared me a little, but I forged on. In the end, it was noticeably bitter, however paired with the strong cheese flavors it balanced very nicely. Young son #4 did not like the spinach (the leaves on the rabe). Son #1 kept remarking on how strange the asparagus tasted. Yet they ate dinner, liked dinner and some of them even had a second helping.

This entry was posted in Casserole, Meatless and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

