47 down : 318 to go

Bucatini with Green Peas and Pancetta

★★★★

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 ounces pancetta, chopped
  • 2 shallots, finely chopped
  • 1 ¼ cups frozen green peas
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • ¼ cup dry white wine (I added some white wine vinegar)
  • 1 teaspoons dried thyme
  • 1 lb. uncooked linguine pasta
  • 1 tablespoon kosher salt
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • ½ teaspoon kosher salt
  • ¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • ½ cup (2 ounces) grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add 1 tablespoon oil to pan, swirling to coat. Add pancetta; cook for 10 minutes or until browned and crisp, stirring occasionally. Remove pancetta from pan, reserving 1 tablespoon drippings in pan; set pancetta aside. Add shallots; cook for 3 minutes or until tender, stirring occasionally. Add peas and garlic; cook for 1 minute, stirring occasionally. Add wine and thyme. Increase heat to medium-high. Bring to a boil; cook until liquid reduces to 2 tablespoons (about 3 minutes). Remove from heat.
Cook pasta in boiling water with 1 tablespoon kosher salt according to package directions, omitting additional fat. Drain the pasta in a colander over a bowl, and reserve 1/2 cup cooking liquid. Add pasta, 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and black pepper to pea mixture; toss well. Stir in reserved cooking liquid. Top each serving evenly with grated cheese and pancetta.

Makes 6 servings

Source : Cooking Light April 2011

This was from an actual magazine I got as opposed to random webpages where I typically get my recipes from. I did not deviate too much. Frozen peas and dried thyme as opposed to fresh for convenience sake. I did not measure my shallots and just added two because it looked like a good amount. As I’ve mentioned before, I do not drink wine, therefore there is none in the house. I did have a smidgen of cooking white wine, but it didn’t quite make 1/4 cup, so I made up the difference with some white wine vinegar I found in the pantry. I was afraid I made a major mistake when I realized how strongly it smelled of vinegar, but I thought the end result was very tasty. Would regular wine have been the same, I honestly can’t say. The bucatini (any pasta beyond the basics really) is unheard of in the grocery store I use. The recipe said linguine could be substituted and so I did.

I do not like when a recipe has you start cooking the noodles after the sauce is finished. That’s silly, but I also did not pre-read the recipe and began with what it said in step 1, by the time I realized I was running late, I still had to boil water and cook noodles! Just a hint, put your pot of boiling water on before you start anything else. You don’t have to put your noodles in until the recipe suggest, but at least your water will be ready. That would have been a big time-saver tonight. In my hurry I just but the oil, salt and pepper right into my reserved pasta water (while I was waiting for the last few seconds of pasta cook time) so I would just have to dump and mix. It was still tasty and I don’t know that it made any difference. The added oil made the noodles so slippery that we could barely spoon them out of the pot and the peas had to be fished out separately.

This entry was posted in Pasta, Pork and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

