49 down : 316 to go

Throw together spaghetti sauce

★★★★

  • 28 oz can tomato puree
  • 28 oz can tomato sauce
  • 6 orange tomatoes, peeled and crushed
  • 1/2 green pepper
  • 1 tbsp chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, puréed
  • 1 tbsp oregano
  • 1 tbsp basil
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 6 oz cream cheese
  • 16 ounces linguine, cooked
  • shredded cheddar cheese

Into a large pot, add first 11 ingredients. Cook on low heat for 30 minutes. Blend with a stick blender to incorporate the crushed tomatoes and green pepper. Simmer for another 10 minutes. Just before serving, add in the cream cheese, stir until melted. Serve over linguine noodles and top with cheddar.

This was absolutely a last minute throw together meal. I have not gone for groceries this week yet and did not have anything here to really make. I do however have an abundance of canned tomato products and gallon baggies of frozen fresh tomatoes in my freezer. I grabbed whatever seemed spaghetti sauce-y to me and added it to the pot. I added the tomatoes and pepper whole and frozen. Once they softened I used the stick blender to get them broken down. If you like a chunkier sauce you could chop the veggies first and skip the blending part. The first go around did not include the sauce, garlic or onion powders. When I tasted it, the chipotle came off much too strong. I added these in and it cut the heat down quite a bit. Just before dinner I decided that it was still missing something and hunted down a partial block of cream cheese in the fridge that was begging to go into the pot. That was just the right touch. I was going to top it with parmesan, but it didn’t seem like the right fit and grabbed the cheddar instead. Everyone seemed to really like, (thank goodness, I don’t normally cook by the seat of my pants like this.) In fact we ran out of noodles before we ran out of sauce!


This entry was posted in Meatless, Pasta and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

