51 down : 314 to go

Italian Seasoned Roast Chicken Breasts

★★★★★

  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary
  • 1 teaspoon lemon rind, dried
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 4 teaspoons olive oil
  • ½ teaspoon fennel seed, crushed
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon black pepper
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 5 bone-in chicken breast halves
  • Cooking spray
Preheat oven 425º.
Combine first 8 ingredients in bowl, stirring well. Loosen skin from chicken by inserting fingers, gently pushing between skin and eat. Rub rosemary mixture under loosened skin over flesh; rub over top of skin. Place chicken, bone side down, on a broiler pan coated with cooking spray. Coat skin lightly with coking spray. Bake at 425º for 35 minutes or until a thermometer inserted into thickest portion registers 155º. Remove chicken from pan; let stand 10 minutes.

Makes 5 servings

Source : Cooking Light March 2011

Wow!…

I do not like fixing chicken. I do not like touching chicken. I dislike raw meat all together! I was thinking “why did I pick this recipe? I don’t want to fix this.” But it sounded like an excellent seasoning combination.

I picked up meat at Myers’, maybe that’s why it was so good. I cooked it the night I got it, maybe that’s why it was so moist. Whatever it was, this was incredibly good. This was so good that not only did I eat some of the skin (a big never for me), but I also picked the entire thing up and ate it right off the bone (I do not generally touch cooked chicken either, I prefer to eat it with a fork.)

Either way, this is a definite keeper. My kids were also excited that I made mashed potatoes (from flakes). I was proud that I had not just one but two side dishes, 1 green and 1 starch.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

