57 down : 308 to go

Grilled Chicken Adobo

★★★★★

  • 1 ½ cups soy sauce
  • 1 ½ cups water
  • ¾ cups vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 1 ½ tablespoons minced garlic
  • ½ teaspoon black pepper
  • 3 pounds skinless, boneless chicken thighs
Preheat an outdoor grill for high heat, and lightly oil grate.
In a large pot, mix soy sauce, water, vinegar, honey, garlic, and pepper. Bring the mixture to a boil and place chicken into pot. Reduce heat, cover and cook 35-40 mintues.
Remove chicken, drain on paper towels and set aside. Return mixture to a boil and cook until reduced to about 1 ½ cups
Place chicken on prepared grill, about 5 minutes each side, until browned and crisp. Serve with remaining soy sauce mixture.

Makes 8 servings

Source : Heart-Of-Midlothian (allrecipes.com)

Let me just say, this was amazing! AMAZING! I dislike chicken thighs, I hate needing to pick at chicken on the bone, but I could have gone all caveman on this one! Easy, easy, easy…pour everything in a pot, add the chicken, cook and then pitch it on the grill for a final sizzle. I omitted the bay leaves (mostly because I couldn’t find mine in the bowels of my spice cabinet) and may or may not have used slightly more than the suggested garlic dosage.

The only complaint I would have is…where do you find boneless, skinless chicken THIGHS! Not in this town. I had bone-in, skin-coated chicken thighs. I had to pull the skin off myself and I really hate touching raw chicken. Then I had to trim the excess fat off, yuck! Worst part was, of the two and a half pound package I bought, I think I threw away about a pound! We had 4 little chicken thighs to feed 6 people.

But this was still an amazing, incredible sauce. The chicken just fell off the bone, barely any picking required. The whole family loved it. I would happily serve this to company and not worry about someone turning their nose up. This is a definite must try for you and an I’m going to make this again for me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

