58 down : 307 to go

Butter Pecan French Toast

(liberally adapted)

★★★★★

  • 2 tablespoon butter, divided
  • ½ cup chopped pecans
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup refrigerated Amaretto nondairy creamer
  • 12 slices bread
  • confectioners’ sugar
  • ground cinnamon
  • Maple syrup, optional
Pecan toasting

In a small skillet, melt 1 teaspoon butter over medium heat. Add pecans; cook and stir for 3 minutes or until toasted. While pecans are toasting, preheat oven to 400°. Using two 15 x 10-inch jelly roll pans, divide butter evenly between them; place pans in oven as it preheats.

Egg mixture
Cinnamon sprinkler
Pan ready

In a shallow bowl, whisk eggs and creamer.

Remove pans from oven, spread melted butter evenly over bottom. Sprinkle with chopped pecans (I put pecans in 1 pan and left the other plain). Dip both sides of each slice of bread in egg mixture. Place in a single layer on each jelly roll pan (should fit 6 slices each). Sprinkle with cinnamon. Pour any remaining egg mixture over bread slices. Bake for 20 minutes, until golden. Serve with powdered sugar and maple syrup.

Makes 12 slices

Source : Simple & Delicious September/October 2009

I love having breakfast for dinner. Funny how I hate fixing breakfast in the morning, I’m just not a morning girl! The trouble with french toast and having 4 kids, I haven’t figured out how to get everything fixed, keep it warm and eat dinner together. Usually we just “order up” and each kid eats as it gets done. I did some research about baking french toast and came up with this website recipe. I had to do some adapting, putting the pecans in first was genius, they baked right into the bread, like the nuts on sticky buns. I also could not find Southern Butter Pecan creamer (which sounded pretty tasty) and had to settle for a different flavor. The grocery store cooler seemed overloaded with Hazelnut varieties right now (is that a seasonal thing?).

Creamer of choice

I actually ran to a second grocery store in the hopes of finding some, and finally gave up and bought Amaretto (because it had nuts on the label). I happen to be allergic to pecans and almonds and avoid them in general in large doses. So that I could enjoy this too, I fixed one pan with the pecans and one without. I did try one of each (how could I not!) Other adaptations, I did not measure the cinnamon and just sprinkled it evenly over the top of the soaked bread. Nor did I use French bread or Texas toast or another fancy bread…I just used regular ol’ white sliced bread.

I do not think I will ever use a skillet for french toast again. Baking it was the perfect solution for our family. I will need to buy a second jellyroll pan!

Gooey hand reference

*Lesson learned: Remember which hand is the gooey hand. Do not use the gooey hand to reach in the bread bag for a new slice! This makes for a gooey bag!

Today's lesson learned

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Meatless and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

