59 down : 306 to go

Pan-fried Flounder with Potatoes in Parsley

★★

  • 3 lbs. small gold potatoes, cut in half
  • Salt and pepper
  • 8 flounder fillets
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 9 tablespoons butter
Boil the potatoes in a large pot of salted water until tender, then drain.
Rinse the fish in cold water, then coat each one in the flour, patting off the excess. Melt 5 tablespoons of the butter in a skillet and pan-fry the fish for 5 minutes on each side, or until crisp and golden. Keep the cooked fish warm while you cook the remainder.
Melt the remaining butter in skillet. Add the potatoes and let them sauté a little. Serve immediately.

Makes 6 servings

Source : Epicurious July 2009

Let me begin by explaining that I have never been very skilled at pan-frying fish. Especially not delicate fish. Flounder was on sale this week and I was in the mood for fish, so I looked for a recipe specifically for flounder. This one actually called for whole flounders, maybe that would have worked better. Only fillets were available at the store. These completely fell apart in the pan, I had more fish bits than fillets in the end. (I also discovered several ½-inch size, very sharp bones in these, for those with kidlings.)

In the end, I was not impressed with either the fish or the recipe. Fingerling potatoes were the original recipe, but I had to substitute that for something a little more cost friendly due to the amount I would need for my family. The store had a 3-lb. bag of small yellow (gold) potatoes with a very thin skin. They were good potatoes, the recipe just did not offer a lot of flavor. The fish reminded me of scrambled eggs. Not what I had expected, not sure why, but that is what it tasted like to me. The boys all ate, we had full bellies, but it is not something I will try again.

Should I have used the parsley and lemon and dill? Maybe. Parsley doesn’t really add much flavor in general and I only had dried, so I skipped it. Lemon (citrus in general) is not something that I generally like on any main dish, just a personal preference. As I got into the cooking process I had already determined that this was something that I wasn’t going to like very much, once I get that into my head, I don’t worry to much beyond making it edible. I sprinkled the fish with salt and freshly ground pepper while it was in the pan to ensure that it had more flavor than flour and butter, but that is the only seasoning I added.

We were down to just 3 for the dinner table tonight, being a holiday weekend the hubby had to work odd hours, so he didn’t make it home. Son 2 was out helping friends clean up their yard and stayed there for dinner. Son 4 visited the doctor today and tested positive for his third round of strep, needless to say he didn’t really feel like eating. So it was just me and sons 1 & 3 for dinner. Hopefully #4 can kick the strep this time so we can throughly enjoy summer now that it’s finally starting to warm up here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

