65 down : 300 to go

I hit a round number! 300 to go! Yeah! Now I feel like I’m getting somewhere. Tonight we did try a new recipe. Because I love my hubby I occasionally look for recipes with him specifically in mind. This is one of those.

Ruben Quiche

★★★★

CRUST:

  • 1 cup plus 3 tablespoons finely crushed Rye Triscuits or other crackers
  • 1 tablespoon rye or all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons plus 1-1/2 teaspoons butter, melted

FILLING:

  • 5 green onions, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 8 ounces shredded Gruyere cheese, divided
  • 2-1/2 ounces deli corned beef, cut into 2-inch strips
  • 15 oz can sauerkraut, well drained
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup half-and-half cream
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • ½ teaspoon ground mustard
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
In a small bowl, combine the cracker crumbs, flour and butter; press onto the bottom and up the sides of an ungreased 9-in. deep dish pie plate. Bake at 375° for 8-10 minutes or until edges are lightly browned.
Meanwhile, in a small skillet, saute onions in butter until tender; set aside. Sprinkle 1/2 cup cheese over crust. Top with corned beef, sauerkraut and remaining cheese. Beat the eggs, cream, flour, mustard, salt and reserve onion mixture; pour over cheese.
Bake, uncovered, at 375° for 25-30 (mine was more like 35-40) minutes or until a knife inserted near the center comes out clean. Let stand for 5 minutes before cutting.

Makes 8 slices

Source : Simple & Delicious March/April 2010

The hubby (and most of the boys) are Reuben sandwich fans. Me, not so much. But I do like sauerkraut. The flavors here all went together very nicely. If you are a diehard Reuben lover, you might prefer the Swiss cheese instead. Swiss is something I cannot eat. I love cheese, but have never been able to eat Swiss.

This was relatively simple to put together. I crushed the triscuits in my mortar & pestle and the were very fine. The original calls for 1 cup of sauerkraut, but what was I going to do with the little bit that was left over? That seemed silly, so I added the whole can, I had a deep dish pie plate, so there was room. Same deal with the cheese, it was an 8 ounce block, couldn’t see being left with 2 ounces. It made for thicker slices and therefore more filling slices, allowing me to get away with having only 1 pie at that table of 4 boys. The only issue I ran into (and maybe it was the additional sauerkraut) after 25 minutes it was a raw eggy mess on the inside. I put it back in for another 10 to 15 minutes and kept checking it. Then I let it rest for 5 minutes and that seemed to do the trick.

I needed to run to the Dollar General up the street and it gave me a good excuse to get out and walk in the gorgeous weather we’ve been having. Gift bags that didn’t cost an arm and a leg  for the treats I had for the teacher’s were the goal, but at the register there was a little treat that I just couldn’t resist…

This entry was posted in Beef, Casserole and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

