72 down : 293 to go

Cheddar Ham Strata

★★★★

  • 10 slices day old bread, crusts removed and cubed
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • ¼ cup butter, cubed
  • 16 ounces shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2 cups cubed fully cooked ham
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 8 eggs
  • 3 cups milk
  • 2 tablespoons prepared mustard
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
Place bread cubes in greases 13×9-inch baking dish. In small skillet, saute onion in butter; spoon over bread. Sprinkle with cheese, ham and flour. In a large bowl, whisk eggs, milk, mustard, garlic powder and salt. Pour over ham and cheese. Cover and refrigerate overnight.
Remove from refrigerator 30 minutes before baking. Bake, uncovered, at 350º for 60-70 minutes or until knife inserted near center comes out clean. Let stand 10 minutes before serving.

Makes 12 servings

Source : Taste of Home December/January 2006

This was one of those that I put off and put off, mostly because I did not have the where-with-all to get it pulled together to allow it to soak overnight. Since I usually make these for dinners, I could easily have put it together in the morning and had it ready for dinner. But I’m not that organized or disciplined. I put this together today at noon, popped it in the fridge. Around 5ish, I pulled it out and threw it in the oven to bake for the required hour. It still tasted good, it still baked correctly. Stale bread does not exist in this house, I used the squashed loaf that no one wanted to make sandwiches out of. Mushrooms also do not exist in this house. I despise mushrooms, the smell, the texture, the feel, the color. Yucky, McYuckerson!

Jumping jellybeans! A whole pound of cheese! Yes it does take that much, yes it makes it super tasty and I recommend using blocks of cheese as opposed to the pre-shredded bagged kind. This was simple to put together, beyond the sauteed onion, it was really just layering everything in the dish. There are a variety of mustards out there, lately I’ve been using a white wine dijon in my recipes. It’s more mild.

Today was a good day for this recipe because I had an iced coffee from Sheetz. I don’t know what they put in that, but I’ve been going strong ever since. In addition to getting my dinner pulled together at lunch; I bought flowers and created a hanging basket; took #2 out for some badly needed sneaker shopping; took the entire troop to Rita’s; ran to the grocery store; edited pictures and scanned recipe pictures; weeded; checked out a yardsale. That is NOT a normal day for me. Here I am at midnight blogging! Wonder if I can get that in an IV?

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Casserole and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

