77 down : 288 to go

Pop Up Pizza Casserole

★★★★

  • 1 ½ lb. ground turkey
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 cup chopped green pepper
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • ½ teaspoon oregano
  • Dash salt
  • ½ cup water
  • ⅛ teaspoon hot pepper sauce
  • 1 (15-oz.) can tomato sauce
  • 1 envelope (1.5 oz.) McCormick/Schilling® Spaghetti Sauce Mix
  • 6 to 8 oz. Sliced Mozzarella or Monterey Jack Cheese

POPOVER BATTER

  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup flour
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup grated Parmesan cheese
Heat oven to 400°F. In large skillet, brown ground turkey. Stir in onion, green pepper, garlic, oregano, salt, water, hot pepper sauce, tomato sauce and sauce mix; simmer 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
In small bowl, combine milk, oil and eggs; beat 1 minute at medium speed. Lightly spoon flour into measuring cup; level off. Add flour and salt; beat 2 minutes at medium speed or until smooth.
Pour hot meat mixture into ungreased 13×9-inch pan; top with cheese slices. Pour batter over cheese, covering filling completely; sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. Bake at 400°F. for 25 to 30 minutes or until puffed and deep golden brown. Serve immediately.

Makes 12 servings

Source : Pillsbury

The list of ingredients for this recipe kind of put me off, but I knew it would taste good. I tried doing easy meals this week because I’m in the middle of painting my dining room, but it was on my dinner list and tonight I got done with my painting early so this became dinner.

In the end, it was not difficult to make and the original recipe just had lots of brand name words in it, making it look longer. My husband, who usually stops at the meat market for me after work, didn’t make it to the market yet (which I forgot), so I didn’t have ground beef on hand. Thankfully I had a package of ground turkey in the freezer! Even better, the turkey doesn’t need drained after browning. The onion and pepper went into the chopper and everything got added to the pan and left to simmer while I got the cheese grated and mixed up the pop over batter. This came out much runnier than I had anticipated and I was a little worried I did something wrong (I will admit to not really timing how long I mixed what). In the end, it all turned out beautifully and tasted wonderful.

The house has been needing some organization to occur. We are a bookworm family and have books and magazines from the eaves of the attic to the boughs of the basement. For some time I have been wanting to build a wall shelf in the dining room to house all of our various media in one location. We finally picked and designed a shelving unit on Ikea.com and turns out, to do one whole wall, left to right and top to bottom, was only going to cost $157! Not nearly as bad as we had figured, so on Sunday we made the trip to Ikea and bought the shelving. Right now it sits in neat little piles in the middle of my living room, waiting for the dining room to get painted. My original dining room was a sponge paint technique mixing the colors red, orange and yellow. Pretty as a fuzzy peach, it was. However, with the living room being lilac and the kitchen being blueberry snowcone, the colors weren’t working. Add to that the vibrant orange in the addition (which can be seen from the dining room) and something had to change. Now my dining room is a soft dove gray with pale yellow ceiling (it always had been) and the outside wall having yellow and gray strips. I’m happy with it so far. We have such little maneuvering room that I can only paint half at a time, so we started with the wall the shelves are going on.

This entry was posted in Casserole, Pizza and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

