82 down : 283 to go

Pineapple Casserole

★★★★★

  • 2 (20 oz) cans pineapple tidbits
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 6 tablespoons flour
  • 2 cups grated sharp cheese
  • ½ cup melted butter
  • 1 cup crumbled crackers (or cornflakes or potato chips)
Drain pineapple and reserve 6 tablespoons juice. Combine flour and sugar to make a paste with juice. Add pineapple, cheese and butter to paste. Pour into 2 quart casserole dish. Sprinkled crumbs over top and bake at 350º for 20 to 30 minutes.

Makes 8 servings

Source : www.cooks.com

This was a dish I fixed for a picnic tonight. The hubby actually picked it, I was deciding between a bean casserole and this. Any casserole was the direction I was given. Out of fear of bringing something as a duplicate, I went with this simply because the hubby suggested it and I’d never personally heard of it. I chose the tidbits over the chunks because I wanted something easily bite sized and went with crushed crackers rounds of a certain red box variety because I needed them for the BLT dip recipe I fixed for picnic #1 today.

I was a little apprehensive, but figured apple pie is always made with cheddar cheese, so why not pineapple. The hubby taste tested it after it came out of the oven (and cooled slightly) and said it was certainly good enough to take to the picnic. At the picnic, several people came to tell me that it was really good. Although I didn’t personally try it, based on the reactions to it, I gave it a 5 star rating. Now I know that it is a good choice for future gatherings with friends. Sorry I forgot to take a picture of it!

This entry was posted in Appetizer, Casserole, Dessert and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

