96 down : 269 to go

Chocolate Fudge Cake

★★★★★

Prepare 2 boxes cake of Betty Crocker Devil’s Food Super Moist cake mix according to package directions. Pour into large sheet pan (I’m talking large here, not your standard 13×9). Bake at suggested temperature for 30 to 40 minutes until done.

After cake is done, prepare fudge frosting. Bring 1½ cup sugar, ⅔ cup milk and 12 tablespoons butter to a boil. Stir for 1 minute. Remove from heat and stir in 12 ounces chocolate chips, until they are melted. Spread over slightly cooled cake.

This was the cake served at the party. Originally I had prepared this cake. Either it’s not a good cake, or I totally botched the recipe. It turned out horrible. This was my quicky backup. Box cake is a no brainer, but I wanted a slightly crunchy fudge frosting. For that I went to my family cookbook and pulled out the frosting my mother uses on her cherry fudge cake. I just doubled the recipes (so if you want to make a 13×9 cake, just halve everything.)

Chocolate cake is not my favorite, I rarely eat it, but with this frosting, I love it. Made for a quick, easy and super tasty party cake too!

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

