104 down : 261 to go

Cajun Roast Chicken

★★★★★


MARINADE AND CHICKEN

  • 2 large lemons, juiced (1/2 cup)
  • 2 Tbsp each creole seasoning and olive oil
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 large serrano chile , seeded and minced (originally jalapeño)
  • 1 Tbsp black pepper
  • 8 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (originally 4)

SEASONING

  • ½ tsp coarse kosher salt
  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • ½ cup dry white wine vinegar (originally dry white wine)
  • 1 14 1/2-oz can chicken broth
  • Several fresh thyme sprigs (originally 1 Tbsp chopped fresh rosemary)
  • 2 Tbsp unsalted butter
MARINADE AND CHICKEN: In 1-gallon sized resealable plastic food storage bag, combine marinade ingredients. Add chicken; seal bag; turn to evenly coat chicken. Marinate at room temperature 1 hour.
SEASONING: Preheat oven to 400º. Remove chicken from marinade; discard marinade. Pat chicken dry; season with salt. In 12-in oven proof skillet, heat oil over high heat. Add chicken; cook 4 minutes, until first side is golden brown. Turn chicken, browned side up. Pour wine into skillet; cook 2 minutes longer. Remove chicken to a plate. Boil wine in skillet 2 minutes, until reduced to 1 Tbsp. Add broth. Bring to a boil; boil 10 minutes. Return chicken pieces, browned side up, with any accumulated chicken juices on plate, along with rosemary to skillet. Place skillet in oven. Bake 10 to 11 minutes, until just barely pink in thickest part.
Transfer skillet to stovetop. Transfer chicken to platter; cover to keep warm. Boil sauce in skillet 30 to 45 seconds. Add butter; swirl skillet until butter is melted and incorporated to make sauce. Transfer chicken to 4 plates; top with sauce.

Makes 6 servings

Source : Rosie March 2002/Kent Rathbun

This was an amazing chicken recipe. The only adjustment (beyond the ingredient substitutions) I made was to cut each breast in half lengthwise to create thinner pieces. This ensured that my still slightly frozen chicken cooked fully in the recipes time frame. It also makes for more manageable servings for our family. It was a maintenance recipe in that I had to be in the kitchen the entire time to watch and stir, but it did not take long and the instructions were spot on. I used a large cast iron chicken fryer that easily made the transition from stove top to oven. This however did not fit all the chicken I had to prepare, but would easily have fit the recipes originally intended 4 pieces (even if you thinned them like I did.)

As for those ingredients I changed, the serrano chile was what I had in my freezer and I was too lazy to search out the jalapeño that I knew was in there. The grocery store had a sale on the family size trays of chicken breast and I had to thaw the whole tray to get the 4 so I figured I would just do all 8 and have leftovers for future meals that call for cubed cooked chicken. Wine, I believe we’ve covered before, we do not drink it so we don’t have it in our house. The white wine vinegar worked just as well, I’m sure the taste is different, but I’ll likely never know. Rosemary is one of the few herbs I dislike, it’s poky. It always stabs my gums and son #1 with the braces can’t stand it. I had bought a little thyme plant when we built the cinder block wall and decided I was going to use that instead. As to leaving it in sprigs (about 1 ½”), that was so it could be picked out by any that didn’t want to eat it (or get it stuck in their braces.) I highly recommend trying this recipe and if you do…let me know what you think.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

