105 down : 260 to go

Thai Beef Skewers

★★★★★

  • 1 lb. flank steak, trimmed of any fat
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • 24 mint leaves
  • bamboo skewers
  • ⅓ cup fresh lime juice
  • ¼ cup minced red onion
  • ¼ cup shredded carrot, finely chopped
  • 2 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 1 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. Asian fish sauce
  • 1 serrano, minced, with seeds
  • 1 clove garlic, pushed through a press
  • ⅓ cup unsalted cocktail peanuts, finely chopped
Preheat cast iron skillet. Sprinkle steak with salt. Grill steak 4 to 6 minutes per side, or until medium-rare. Remove steak to plate; let cool. Cover and refrigerate at least 1 hour or overnight.
Cut meat into 24 thin slices on a slight diagonal across the grain. Trim each slice to about 3 inches in length. Place a mint leaf on end of each slice and roll up tightly. Insert a skewer into each steak roll; place on a platter. Cover with plastic wrap; refrigerate while making sauce.
In small bowl, stir lime juice, onion, carrot, oil, sugar, fish sauce, and garlic until mixed. In mini food processor add serrano chile (cut up) and peanuts. Process until peanuts start clumping together. Add to bowl with rest of sauce ingredients. Serve sauce with skewers.

Makes 8 servings

Source : Redbook June 2006

We read this recipe several times over. We intended to use the grill, but his schedule changed and he wouldn’t be home any night this week before 7pm. Then we realized that it would be silly to heat the grill up just to sear a steak for 5 minutes and decided to do this in our heavy cast iron skillet. Then it dawned on us that you must eat the beef cold. He was game, but I like my dinner to be hot (unless it’s salad). In fact I would placate my children with Cheerios until I finished my (hot) dinner before feeding them if my dinner happened to get done quicker than I had anticipated. The thought of putting all that work into something to then eat it cold, not working for me. Turns out the recipe is originally for a fancy-schmancy appetizer. Well we were eating it for dinner!

In the end, we fixed this at night on Wednesday. Thursday we sliced and rolled. Whipped up the dipping sauce and a salad. Right before sitting down to eat, I heated some olive oil in my (relatively flat) cast iron skillet, laid the skewers in and heated the broad sides for a minute a piece. Being that they were pretty rare, this still did not make for well done steak, and that’s okay. The hubby’s skewer I left off the skillet as he would not be eating with us and he does like his more on the rare side. In the end I compromised, they were warm!

The dipping sauce was delicious! The combination made for some hesitation, raw onion, raw garlic, raw pepper (and a ‘picy one too). All 4 boys used it, and liked it. I liked it very much, I know the hubby is going to love it. Boy #3 even added his leftover sauce to the top of his salad. I did alter the salad from the original however. I put all the ingredients in my Tupperware chopper except the pepper and the peanuts. The pepper and peanuts went into my mini food processor where I stopped chopping just short of creating peanut butter. This was added to the chopper with everything else to be cranked to an even finer paste. I could not fathom the mess of handing my kids a dish of sauce and a dish of chopped peanuts and letting them at it. My dining room floor would have been scattered with peanuts.

In other news today we finally (finally) had someone come and take care of the wall around the front window. My picture window has been in place for, oh about 5 years. In installing it we were left with missing chunks of plaster around the whole perimeter of the window. Because of this I have never been able to hang a proper curtain. When we had the addition added onto our house and the plasterers came to do the work in there, I asked the hubby “can’t they do around the window while they are at it?” The answer was no because he needed to add some drywall into the gaping holes where some of the lath had to be removed. So I waited. When we received one of our income tax checks…”can we use some of the money to have the window finished?” In the end it went to pay for something else (likely also needed.) Finally, on Tuesday, he says to me “You’ll never believe what will be happening here, in our living room, on Thursday morning.” He was absolutely correct, I could not guess. I just figured it would get fixed when we were ready to sell the house (in 15 years when the kids are all grown.) Now my picture window looks like this:

and I could not be happier. Conveniently I even have some of the original paint left (found it when doing the facades for the Bike Wash Party), it’s called Globe Thistle. The plaster needs to dry for a week before I can paint. Then we can put molding up, and a curtain rod, and a real curtain (instead of a sheet attached to a tension rod). One down, 4 more patch jobs to go!

This entry was posted in Beef and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 105 down : 260 to go

  1. Pingback: Dining Room Remodel | A Schmiford Life

Leave a Reply

