111 down : 254 to go

Chilled Peach Soup

★★★★

  • 3 cups chopped peeled fresh peaches
  • 8 ounces fat-free plain yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • ⅛ to ¼ teaspoon almond extract
  • Fresh mint
In blender or food processor combine peaches, yogurt, lemon juice and extract; cover and process until smooth. Refrigerate until chilled. Garnish with almonds and mint.Makes 4 servingsSource : Light & Tasty Annual 2003

Initially I thought “what a great recipe for this heat wave we are having”, but as it turns out it was the dreariest day of the week. Oh well! My mother thought I was making smoothies for dinner. I guess it was the same idea really. The peaches were blanched so they would peel a little easier, it took about 4 peaches to create the 3 cups. That was the most difficult part of the preparation. Being unorganized we had just this soup for dinner, I really don’t know what I would have added to it to round out the meal. To me, this was perfect for a summer dinner. Reminds me of the times my mom used to fix strawberry shortcakes for dinner when I was little.

This entry was posted in Fruit, Soup/Stew, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

