116 down : 249 to go

Ham, Greenbeans & Potatoes

★★★★★

  • small ham
  • large can green beans
  • small potatoes
  • onion
  • ½ tablespoon brown sugar
  • Pepper
  • ¼ teaspoon garlic powder
  • dash hot pepper sauce, or cayenne
  • apple cider vinegar
Cook ham and potatoes in 2 cups of water with onion, brown sugar and spices for 30 minutes, until potatoes are soft. Add green beans and cook another 10 minutes. Serve with vinegar.Makes 12 servingsSource : Wolfgang Family

This is something I grew up on. The smell is one that brings back memories. I cannot give you measurements, because I’ve never been giving them. I know the greenbeans come in a very large can that Hanover Brands carries. Potatoes can also come in a can, but I don’t like them as much, so this time I bought small potatoes and cut them down to 1-inch chunks to save me serving time later, but you could easily leave them whole. As for the ham, there are several things you can do, obviously leftover cooked ham is the best, but I bought a small quarter ham, cubed it, froze half and added the other half to the pot. The hot pepper sauce is served at the table, not everyone likes it in their soup. Funny, the first time I mentioned this, the hubby turned up his nose and said “don’t ever make that.” Then I was working on a family cookbook and thought, I’m fixing it for dinner even if it means I’m the only one that eats it. When I served it he looked very skeptical and did not want to eat it. He tried some and didn’t really like it. I said “put vinegar on it, that’s how you eat it.” To this I got another doubtful look, but he did and said it changed the whole meal. He will eat it now, but only with vinegar.

This entry was posted in Soup/Stew and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

