121 down : 244 to go

Mrs. Sigg’s Snickerdoodles

★★★★★

  • ½ cup butter, softened
  • ½ cup shortening
  • 1½ cups white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2¾ cups flour
  • 2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 2 Tbsp white sugar
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 400°.

Cream together first 5 ingredients. Blend in flour, cream of tartar, soda, and salt. Shape dough by rounded spoonfuls into balls.

Mix 2 tablespoons sugar and cinnamon in bowl. Roll dough balls in mixture. Place 2 inches apart on cookie sheet.

Bake 8 to 10 minutes, until set but not hard. Remove immediately from baking sheets to cooling racks.

Makes about 4 dozen

Source : Allrecipes (Beth Sigworth)

__________________________

This was what I prepared to take along to my maternal grandmother’s family reunion. I had never gone before and would be the first from my branch of the family to attend. Not sure what I would find there, I figured snickerdoodles were a safe thing to take along. Sure enough, they got hit hard. The reunion was a nice treat, my grandmother passed away 5 years ago from cancer. Seeing her siblings, even though I had no real connection to them was wonderful. Two of them look so much like her. In addition I was able to get some information to expand the work I’m doing on our family tree. It’s just a personal quest, but one that I am enjoying very much.

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

