130 down : 235 to go

Easy Ham Hash

★★★★

  • 1 lb. finely ground fully cooked cubed ham, chopped
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped
  • 3 cups shredded hash brown potatoes
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 tablespoon prepared mustard (Mild & Creamy Dijon)
  • 1 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce (+ 1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar)
  • 1 teaspoon prepared horseradish
  • ¼ teaspoon pepper
  • 4 ounces shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2 ounces shredded Monterey Jack cheese

In a large bowl, combine ham and onion. Shred potatoes and add to ham mixture. Stir in the butter, Parmesan cheese, mustard, Worcestershire sauce, horseradish and pepper.

Spoon into a greased 11-in. x 7-in. baking dish, pressing down firmly. Combine cheeses; sprinkle over top. Bake, uncovered, at 350° for 35-40 minutes or until bubbly and cheese is melted.

Makes 6 servings

Source : Taste of Home


Another recipe calling for ground ham. In this area, that means grinding it yourself! As I had found cooked cubed ham in my freezer, it got thawed and put in my chopper and whirled a few times until it became small pieces. Not quite ground, but close enough in my book.

There were several adjustments made to this recipe to make it work with what I had. Beyond the ham, I was not shredding potatoes. Not when they sell them by the bagful already shredded and I have a freezer with several ½ bags from previous recipes. It was estimated that 3 cups would be close enough. Likely the recipe intended that you use regular yellow mustard, I am not a fan, but since I found this mild and creamy Dijon, you may have noticed that I use that quite a bit. Worcestershire I would have happily added the full amount, except I ran out. After scavenging my pantry, I decided balsamic vinegar was the closest thing I had to Worcestershire and used that. I’m sure I could have done without that extra tablespoon of liquid, what with the shredded potatoes being frozen and all, but this is how it happened.

Then you just stir it all together and put it in a pan and bake. In the future, some corn flake crumbs would be tasty on top. Just something to give it a little crunch.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Casserole and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

