131 down : 234 to go

Cajun Corn Soup

★★★★

  • 1 ½ cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 14.5 ounce can diced tomatoes, drained
  • 15 ounce can whole kernel corn, drained
  • ½ teaspoon garlic salt
  • ¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • ¼ teaspoon paprika
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 leek, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • ½ 15 ounce can black beans
  • 1 cup heavy cream

Mix the broth and water in a pot, and bring to a boil. Stir in the green bell pepper, tomatoes, and corn. Season with garlic salt, cayenne pepper, and paprika. Reduce heat to low, and simmer 10 minutes. Transfer 1/2 the mixture to a blender, blend until smooth, and return to pot.

Heat the oil in a skillet over medium heat. Stir in the leek and garlic, and cook 5 minutes, until tender. Transfer to blender. Place black beans and about 1/2 cup of the soup into blender. Blend until smooth. Mix into the soup, and continue cooking 10 minutes. Just before serving, add heavy cream and cook until heated through.

Makes 6 servings

Source : Allrecipes/JWHICKER


This was a recipe I called son #1 in to help with. He handled the broth and water while I started cutting the pepper. Then I had him open and drain the cans awhile until the broth came to a boil. Although the recipe called for 1 pepper, I used 2 because I happened to have 2 garden peppers in my fridge that were begging to be used. Son #1 got out a board and knife and I showed him how to dice peppers. He dumped them along with the cans into the pot. The blender step got skipped in favor of a stick blender that I can use right in the pot. It did not get as smooth, but that was okay with us.

Leeks were something I had for the first time in Disney World when we hid from the rain in the German pub in Epcot. I ordered leek and potato soup, not really knowing what to expect. Since then, we have tried numerous recipes that feature the leek. Learning how to prepare it took some research and I told son #1 that I was going to show him how. He thought it was gross that they had sand and dirt inside all the layers. Likely you know how to prepare one, but just in case, here’s how I do it. Cut off the top inch or so of the green end and the root. Slice the entire leek in half lengthwise. Keep the layers together! Hold one half under cold running water, sliding your thumbs along the layers to fan them out so the water can get in between each. Son #1 did one half while I did the other and likewise he cut his half while I did mine. We only used the bottom white section and a little up the light green. Sometimes I will chop the remaining dark green parts and freeze them to be added in lieu of onions in some recipes. Son #1 was relieved when I said I would do the garlic clove, he didn’t want his hands all smelly. He was put to the task of rinsing the black beans (also kind of gross for a 14 year old). This was all added to the pot and blended again. Right before serving I decided it would look and taste good if we added some heavy cream (which I also happen to have an overabundance of in my refrigerator for some reason, I think they are breeding in there.) Son #1 was intrigued by this so I left him taste a little of the cream, his response was “I can see how that would make it taste better!” Sadly I do not have any pictures of him trying any of these steps, as the house photographer this happens often when my hands are otherwise occupied.

In the end we had an extra tasty soup that was not too spicy, perfect for some of the other sons at the table. The chunkier version was good too, I’m not sure I would have liked it much blended smooth.

This entry was posted in Meatless, Soup/Stew and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 131 down : 234 to go

  1. Heather B says:

    Hanni! I made this soup tonight and had to doctor it up as I did the the recipe “blending” AHHHH it was like baby food mush-city GAG TO THE MAX. BUT the taste was good, so I pushed forward. I added an additional can of corn, and a can of Rotel plus more chicken broth. Added some more garlic salt and pepper. It is SO good! But yes, I dont reccomend the puree-ing, you are right it isnt so hot like that. I will use my stick blender next time. Thanks for your recipes!

Leave a Reply

