133 down : 232 to go

Cajun Skirt Steak with Creamed Corn

★★★★★

  • 2 Tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 4 cups frozen corn
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • Kosher salt and black pepper
  • 6 eye round steaks
  • 2 teaspoons Creole seasoning
  • Green leaf lettuce
  • Cherry tomatoes

Melt butter in medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until it softens, 4 to 5 minutes.

Add corn, cream, 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper and simmer until corn is tender, 5 to 8 minutes.

Heat broiler. Season steak with Creole seasoning and remaining salt and pepper. Place on broilerproof rimmed baking sheet and broil to desired doneness, 3 to 4 minutes per side. Let rest 5 minutes.

Serve with greens and tomatoes.

Makes 6 servings

Source : Real Simple Dinner Tonight: Done!


With the kids back in school, not only did I run to DD, but I was also able to go to the library and take my time. The cookbook section was calling to me as I was hitting a road block with the recipes I had. Sometimes I want an old-fashioned book to read from instead of scouring webpage after webpage. This book was perfect, once home I started paging through until I found something that would be good for tonight’s dinner. Even better, I had most of the ingredients on hand, we just needed steaks. Originally it called for skirt steak, but I had a little chat with the butcher and explained what I was doing with it and that I am not the best when it comes to beef. He recommended the eye rounds and said he’s never had one get too tough – translation ‘you can’t screw it up’. That was good enough for me, even better the one package had 2 wee little steaks in it that would be great for the youngers.

The creamed corn was something new, we usually just have corn microwaved with butter and sugar. Once again, heavy cream replaced half-and-half, because it’s still multiplying in my refrigerator. And again we’ve replaced the seasoning with Creole because that’s what my pantry offers up. The original recipe called for some tossing of the greens and tomatoes with some oil and spices, I just washed them up and put them separately on the table. As a side note, the steak was super tasty when used to ‘swap the deck’! Son #1 was greatly enamored of the creamed corn, I believe he had 3 (or was it 4) servings.

The first day of school sounds like it was a good one. All 4 sons came home chattering away. Son #4’s class received one of the smart whiteboards and he was telling us how that works and how he needs a stool because he can’t reach it. Apparently he’s the runt of the class this year. Even the biggers came home with good things to say, which is unusual. As soon as the last 2 fell in the door, they were herded to the car where they were taken for a little after school treat. (Thank you library summer reading program for giving them coupons for free treats!) We’ve gone through the Rita’s Ice, Christine’s Cookie, pizza slices, and subs. Today it was fruit pops from Edible Arrangements.

As is normal, I made them pose for pictures before running off to school. It’s funny how the older they get, the less enthused they look!

This entry was posted in Beef, Sidedish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

