145 down : 220 to go

Spaghetti Pepperoni Pie

★★★★

  • 1 lb. spaghetti, broken up into thirds
  • ⅓ cup dry seasoned bread crumbs
  • 24 ounce jar chunky pasta sauce
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 4 ounces sliced pepperoni, chopped
  • 4 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 3 tablespoons grated Parmesan

In large saucepan of lightly salted boiling water, cook spaghetti 1 minute less than directed on package. Drain.

Heat oven to 350°. Coat 10-inch nonstick skillet with nonstick cooking spray. If skillet handle is not ovenproof, wrap with aluminum foil. Coat with crumbs.

In pasta pot, combine spaghetti, pasta sauce, mozzarella and pepperoni. Stir in beaten eggs. Spoon mixture into prepared skillet.

Bake in 350° oven 30 minutes. Sprinkle with Parmesan. This is where you realize you forgot the crumbs, so sprinkle them on top now. Bake until cheese is golden brown, 10 minutes. Let cool 10 minutes. Cut into 6 wedges.

Makes 8 servings

Source : Family Circle


Tasty and very kid friendly. They were all excited when I sat the pan on the table. As is the norm around here, when a recipe calls for pasta, we do a whole box. The rest of the ingredients I did not alter much.

With the aversion I have for keeping partial jars of ingredients, the whole jar of sauce was added.The recipe called for 2 cups and the jar was 24 ounces, I guesstimated that it was 3 cups and would work out nicely. As I had this orphan bag of Gruyére cheese in the fridge, I sprinkled what was left on top in place of the Parmesan. In reality, the only ingredient I had to buy for this dinner was the pasta. That we normally have on hand too.To explain the crumb deal: When I read step 2 about the pan, it got overlooked. Silly to have it at the end there. As I was using a cast iron chicken fryer for this, the handle part was unnecessary. No, I did not get all my ingredients out ahead of time, okay yes I did, and I even overlooked the crumbs there. Subconsciously, maybe I just didn’t want them. Whatever happened, I saw the oversight after I slid the pan into the oven. Thinking they might have been necessary for absorbing some of the grease off the pepperoni, I sprinkled the requested amount on top. Not the same, but no one else knew any different at the table.

As for the pan, it worked out perfectly. It was the right depth for holding my altered measurements. Instead of spraying it with cooking spray, as it is well seasoned, I rubbed it with a paper towel dipped in olive oil. Not realizing how deep it was, I went ahead and cut the pie into 6 “slices”. The youngest always gets served first and I plopped the “slice” on his plate and his eyes got huge. It was around 3-inches tall! My oldest told me after dinner, he likes meals like that because they really fill him up. That’s hard to do when you have 2 hollow legs and a bottomless pit for a stomach. When my husband walked in the door, son #1 said “You’ll like dinner, it was dense!”

This entry was posted in Casserole, Pasta and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

