170 down : 195 to go

Chicken Caprese

★★★★

  • 3 large ripe plum tomatoes (about 3/4 pound), cored, seeds squeezed out, and diced
  • 6 ounces fresh mozzarella, cut into small cubes
  • 5 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon black pepper
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh basil
  • ½ cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ cup bread crumbs
  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (about 1-1/2 pounds total)
  • Additional basil for garnish, optional

In a medium-size bowl, mix tomatoes, mozzarella, 2 tablespoons of the olive oil, balsamic vinegar, ¼ teaspoon of the salt, ⅛ teaspoon of the pepper and chopped basil for the Caprese salad. Cover with plastic wrap and reserve.

Place flour on a large plate. Lightly beat eggs in a shallow bowl. Spread the bread crumbs on another plate.

Dip chicken first in the flour, then in the egg and finally into the bread crumbs, pressing to adhere. Sprinkle both sides with the remaining salt and pepper. Place on a large plate.

Heat remaining 3 tablespoons oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high. Add chicken and cook about 5 minutes per side or until internal temperature reads 160° on an instant-read thermometer. Turn a few times, if necessary, to avoid burning.

To serve, spoon an equal amount of Caprese salad over each piece of chicken. Garnish with additional basil and serve with garlic bread, if desired.

Makes 4 servings

Source : Family Circle


Let me start by saying that I didn’t think I would like this (I knew the rest of the family would), I simply picked it based on the image. It just looked good to eat. And I can now assure you that it IS good to eat!

Several years ago, I decided I was not going to make any more dredged meat. Being all clump handed does not appeal to me. Not to mention, it seemed that everything that got dredged in a wet/dry mixture, then got fried. With this one…I couldn’t resist. I went for it. We are so glad I did. The kids poked at the chunks of mozzarella for awhile, unsure of them, but when you put a forkful with all the various parts in your mouth…MMMMM!

I did splurge and buy the good mozzarella from the deli. The kind that sits in water. Beyond the chicken and fresh tomatoes, everything else was already in my pantry. Except for the dredging part (which I will always despise), this was easy to make and so worthwhile.

In the meantime, while I’m working on dinner, this is what was happening in my dining room…

Hobby Lobby had this paper airplane launcher (and I had a coupon!) Recently, upon finding a paper airplane book on the bookshelf in the dining room, sons 3 & 4 have been burying me in paper airplanes. We are talking piles of them! Everywhere! Because of prevaricating flight patterns they were on shelves, behind things, on top of ceiling fans. EVERYWHERE! This device seemed like the natural next step, and bonus, they had to assemble it themselves. That’s why the daddy is there, although I think he had just as much fun with it.


This is part of the assembling. Well it wasn’t actually in the directions, but it’s always good to test the stickiness of your suction cups this way. #3 is so happy because he was able to get his to stick to his forehead and daddy was still struggling to get his on.

Here is #3 launching his own airplane. Let me tell you, catching these things on camera was not an easy task. This entertained the kiddos for sometime and then mom made them clean up to eat (that awesome) dinner. Now it sits on the shelf you see in the background. Every once in awhile it will disappear for some plane flying, but I think the initial obsession with paper airplanes has died off. Likely it will resurge when they find the other paper airplane book that is on those bookshelves.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

