209 down 156 to go

Mom’s Chili

★★★★★

Image of Mom's Chili

  • 1 pound steak, or stew beef
  • Onions
  • Garlic
  • 1 large can (40.5 oz) kidney beans, I use dark, rinse and drain
  • 1 large can (29 oz) tomato puree
  • 1 can tomato soup
  • 2 to 3 Tbsp chili powder
  • Lime juice
  • dash cinnamon
  • dash tabasco
  • 1 Tbsp sugar or honey
  • baking cocoa

Cut meat into bite size pieces. Brown in small amount oil with chopped onion and garlic. When brown sprinkle with 3 tablespoons flour and add 3 cups water. Mix until incorporated.

Add spices, bring to boil, turn down and simmer 1 hour with the lid on.

Add remaining ingredients starting with soup, then puree, stir smooth after each addition.

Add beans and stir.

Simmer for 30 minutes.

Makes one big pot

Source : My Mom


This is my chili recipe, this is the chili I grew up on. Every time I ask my mother for it, she gives me different ingredients! I don’t even know the measurements for the ingredients, we just dump. This time around I used sirloin steak (it was bogo a few weeks ago and in the freezer), 1 large shallot, 4 cloves of garlic, dark kidney beans, 29 oz puree, 3 tbsp chili powder, 4 drops tabasco, ½ tbsp honey (I ran out, I usually use more), and 2 tbsp baking cocoa.

This is our favorite chili recipe. We typically eat ours with a side of peanut butter and marshmallow sandwiches. Don’t ask why, that’s just what goes with it. When we first got married and I asked mom for the recipe, I served it with garlic bread. It had been a long time since I had last had chili at home. Several years later, when the boys were old enough to converse about food, they were telling her we had chili (beans provide plenty of interesting conversation for boys). She asked if they got to eat PB&M sandwiches with it and it was like a lightbulb went off in my head, I knew something hadn’t seemed right with the garlic bread. Since then, the boys have expected and anticipated PB&M every time we have chili.

This entry was posted in Soup/Stew. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

