244 down : 121 to go

Baked Potato Cheddar Soup

★★

Baked Potato Cheddar Soup

I just didn’t like this. I was more of a chowder than soup. I even added ½ cup of heavy cream to try and loosen it up some. It also did not have the best flavor, in fact flavor was lacking quite a bit. Now I did do the potatoes in the microwave and blame that for some of the issues. I also did the bacon in the microwave, not my favorite way to do it, but I needed so little. I added my green onions with the potatoes because they were frozen. I also added about a ½ cup of cheddar.

  • cup flour
  • 3 cups milk
  • 2 large potatoes, baked, peeled and coarsely mashed (1 ½ pounds)
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon pepper
  • cup cheddar, shredded
  • ½ cup sour cream
  • ½ cup green onions, thinly sliced
  • Bacon, crumbled
  • 2 tablespoons cheddar, shredded
 

In large skillet, whisk flour and milk until smooth. Bring to boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Stir in potatoes, ⅓ cup of cheese, salt and pepper. Cook over medium heat for 2-3 minutes.

Remove from heat. Stir in sour cream and ¼ cup onions. Cover; cook over medium heat for 10 to 12 minutes (do not boil). Garnish with remaining cheese, onions and bacon if desired.

Makes 4 servings
Source : kitchenmonki.com

This entry was posted in Soup/Stew. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

