Chocolate Mint Crisps

Chocolate Mint Crisps

★★★★★

  • 1½ cups packed brown sugar
  • ¾ cup butter, cubed
  • 2 tablespoons plus 11/2 teaspoons water
  • 2 cups (12 ounces) semisweet chocolate chips  3 ounces German sweet chocolate, 2 ounces semi sweet chocolate bar, 7 ounces milk chocolate chips
  • 2 eggs
  • 2½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1¼ teaspoons baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2 packages (4.67 ounces each) mint Andes candies

In a heavy saucepan, combine the brown sugar, butter and water. Cook and stir over low heat until butter is melted and mixture is smooth. Remove from the heat; stir in chocolate chips until melted.

Transfer to a bowl. Let stand for 10 minutes. With mixer on high speed, add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Combine the flour, baking soda and salt; add to chocolate mixture, beating on low until blended. Cover and refrigerate for 8 hours or overnight.

Roll dough into 1-in. balls. Place 3 in. apart on lightly greased baking sheets. Bake at 350° for 11-13 minutes or until edges are set and tops are puffed and cracked (cookies will become crisp after cooling).

Makes 4 dozen
Source : Country Woman Christmas Annual 2003


These were a little more involved than the cookies I normally make. I’m a drop cookie kinda girl. The thought of (1) cooking the sugar, (2) mixing the batter, (3) chilling for 8 hours, (4) rolling into balls, and finally (5) spreading with chocolate is a little more daunting than I look for. The original recipe called for the semi-sweet chocolate chips. While that would have been great, after I had already started I came to realize I didn’t have any. See, semi-sweet are not my favorite and I oft times will buy milk chocolate instead. I was afraid that these were meant to be a richer more adult cookie and the milk chocolate alone wouldn’t cut it. Fortunately, I had a little stash of baker’s chocolate in my pantry and found the German chocolate and semi-sweet bar in there. It couldn’t hurt, could it? The original also thought this recipe would make 6½ dozen. My experience has told me that I never get as many cookies as they tell me I will. I even used a cookie scoop so each cookie would be a uniform size. My cookie scoop must be bigger than 1″.

In the end, these turned out well. I took them along to a dinner with the extended family. I came home with none. Zip, zero, zilch! Good thing they didn’t all fit on the platter! I have a secret stash here at home.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

